Plan of Action

I’ve done a fair amount of reading lately about depression and natural ways to help it. I am feeling a lift of mood now so I wanted to take advantage and pen out a plan to get out of this rut.

The first thing I did was to take responsibility of the things I have been doing that have not helped my situation at all. I have separated myself from the victim mentality enough to be able to recognize that some of the things I’ve been doing have been hurting me. And this was not to find another reason to get down on myself, but rather to be honest about it so I can do something about it. 

I also decided it was important for me to talk to someone about the way I have been feeling. People have started to notice I have not been myself but attributed it to me coming down with the flu or cold. I did not correct them. A couple of days ago though, I decided to tell my sisters about it and the amount of support and concern that poured from them right away was definitely reassuring and made me feel a bit better right away. I don’t feel isolated anymore and the fact that they’ve been checking on me everyday has prevented me from completely retreating into myself.

I have come up with the following things that I will do to help me feel better. Some of things on this list are from past experience, from books, Internet articles, counselors and advice from people. I have taken the things I feel will work best for me and came up with this list.

  1. Get in a sleeping routine (Sleep by11 wake up at 7)
  2. Exercise an hour a day
  3. Meditate for 20 minutes
  4. Eat a balanced diet
  5. Get ready as if I’m going out (even if I’m staying home all day)
  6. Do something productive (cross of an item from a to-do list)
  7. Do something I enjoy
  8. Write three things I am grateful for

I am not expecting to do everything perfectly everyday. Even if I just did a couple of these things each day it will definitely positively impact me. I imagine the more I do the more I will want to do. That’s usually how it goes. It kind of reminds me of this quote I love, “the harder I practice, the luckier I get.”

Some of the things on the list might seem overly simple and obvious, like doing something I enjoy. The thing is I have not felt like doing anything lately, so doing something like playing the piano or reading will keep my mind occupied on something positive. I have all the time in the world to dedicate to myself right now. I am in between jobs and done with the semester. This break could not have come at a better time. I am hopeful my journey to getting better will make me a stronger person and push me to greater heights than I had imaged for myself. I just have to keep looking for that silver lining. 

6 thoughts on “Plan of Action

  1. Even if you don’t suffer from depression (although, I think I do suffer a slight bit of SAD during the winter, but luckily this winter has been very mild for us), I think these are great things to do for self care. I fail to do a lot of them as well and it definitely is a boost when I do them! Happy Holidays!

    1. I think a lot of is are guilty of not doing the things that are good for us. 🙂 I’ve been doing my best to do these things and it’s been improving my mood already! Thank you for reading and commenting. Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

