Speed Dating Extravaganza

Image
Google Images

Sixteen men- five minutes each. I met so many people in such a short, condensed amount of time. It was fun, awkward and entertaining all at the same time. I surprised myself because I was much more social and open with people than I usually am. This experience served the purpose I wanted it to; I got practice feeling more comfortable with people I just met.

I had fun getting to know different people and felt comforted to see that there are many people out there looking to meet the right person. Unfortunately I tend to fall in the “poor me” trap sometimes and think no one else is going through what I am going through. The truth is that many people are single and looking. Many people get nervous when getting to know someone new. My situation is no novelty.

I felt reassured in a way to see how may people were out trying this speed dating thing in the hopes of finding someone special. I came out of the experience feeling so proud of myself for having had the guts to follow through with it. To be honest, I went to sleep the night before the event thinking, “What the heck was I thinking? I don’t want to do this!” It was not a big deal though and I am very glad I did it.

Incase any one is wondering if I met someone that I was interested in- yes I did. There were two guys that I felt I had a connection with. They were around my age, they seemed respectful and had jobs. They did not feel the same way though. The way that speed dating event works is that after the event you login to the site and make your decisions. If there are two people that said yes, their information is shared automatically. I had not mutual matches so I came out as single as I had come in. It was not big deal. I am learning to not take it personally when people are not interested. I’m sure there is someone out there that will appreciate me.

I still had a great time. I don’t regret doing it one bit. I met some nice girls that I had a couple of drinks with before and I went on more “dates” than I ever had. I met many different people and practiced my social skills. I got what I was looking for so I am very happy with my decision to go through with it and try something way out of my comfort zone.

P.S.

Here are the two most eccentric questions I was asked:

1. What is your favorite dinasour? I could not think of a type of dinosaur for the life of me. This was just such a random question. He patiently waited for me to respond but I had nothing.

2. Are you a sexual person? Um… this one caught me off guard. I was dumbfounded by his straightforwardness and his lack of manners. I was done with that mini date after that.

Have a great weekend everyone!!!

4 thoughts on “Speed Dating Extravaganza

  1. Bravo to you for bravery!! I hate first dates so the idea of getting so many out of the way at one time is equal parts intriguing and terrifying. You made the best of it.

Leave a Reply

