Doing the Things that Scare Me

Image

I have always loved the quote that says, “Do one thing everyday that scares you.” It seems to me that people that have really interesting, fun, lives are those that have the guts to try new things that they are scared of. Living by this quote has been my new year’s resolution in the past, but up until recently I have not steered too far into the things I fear, but tonight I am going to be doing something that has always scared me.

I am not the easiest person to get to know, because I tend to try and protect myself from possibly getting rejected or hurt, by shutting people away. Not good. I am ready to work on that and to let myself relax around people I might be interested in getting to know better, and the best way I can think to do that is by getting as much practice as I can getting to know people.

That’s why I have decided to go on a speed dating event tonight. I have been curious about this for a while and it has always seemed like a very intimidating thing to do which is what makes this the perfect thing to try. I will get to practice another skill that I am really lacking which is the awkward small talk phase. I have opted in the past to avoid this phase at all costs, but now I will be doing just that, multiple times in one night.

I am excited to just live a new experience. I already feel more confident and happy with myself for the mere fact that I am going to do this. My hope is that by trying things that truly scare me I will become more confident and live a fuller life. I would hate to let fear stop me from living the life I want. I want to prove to myself that I can grow and become a better person by doing the things that scare me.  I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Doing the Things that Scare Me

  1. Have you ever read the book “My Year with Eleanor”? It’s based on that Eleanor Roosevelt quote and the author spends a year doing one thing every day that scares her — it’s very inspiring and entertaining. I have definitely always found that when I do things that scare me, they turn out to be the best and most memorable experiences. And speed dating!? Go girl. I can’t wait to hear what it was like!

    1. I have not heard of that book, but it’s on my reading list now! It sounds great! I’ve noticed that doing the things that scare you definitely tend to have great results that exceed what we expect. Speed dating was definitely an interesting experience! Ill post something soon about it. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

