Crazy, Exciting Times

I am leaving for China in 7 days! I can’t believe the time is here already. I have been running around trying to get everything ready. I thought I was doing pretty good until I got a call from the travel company, wanting to know how the visa application had gone. To which my response was a panicked, “WHAT VISA?”

Image
Google Images

I can’t believe I totally overlooked the visa requirement. I thought a passport was enough. Oh well, I guess you live and you learn. The Chinese Consulate that has jurisdiction over my state is in San Francisco. I will be taking a last minute trip to San Francisco this Sunday to get my visa first thing Monday morning and be back Tuesday for work (or at least that is the plan that I hope ends up happening) Weekend trips are always fun, so I’m actually looking forward to it.Β 

I have actually had something similar happen before. Last year, my family and I were going to visit family in Mexico in the summer. The night before our flight, my sister realized her passport had expired a few months prior. That sucked! We panicked at the thought that she would not be able to go that summer because of the passport. Thankfully, there was an alternative.Β 

We ended up changing our flight to a week later and we drove out to L.A. to get her passport right away. We were able to get it the same day and ended up staying an extra day to enjoy in Santa Monica. We had so much fun! It was a random, last minute trip and it has been one of the funnest trips I’ve taken.Β 

The point is that I am planning on making the best out of this last minute San Francisco trip that I will be making this weekend. It’s all mindset. This is a reminder that I need to calm down and just make sure I get the basics ready (like all the required traveled docs) and go easy on all the extra, overboard stuff I have been driving myself crazy trying to get done.

I guess this is just a little extra excitement to add to the trip to China. πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!!!

Β 

8 thoughts on “Crazy, Exciting Times

  1. have fun in China and have a lesson for future πŸ™‚ too bad you’ve done that so late – I got my chinese visa while being in Hong Kong via hong kong and china travel agency – they provide tickets, visas, you just pay wait few days and bam – new beautiful visa with a great wall in your passport πŸ™‚ next time try this alternative πŸ˜‰ and exchange money in your country – you won’t be able to do it there, at least Chinese people cannot exchange euro, dollars etc. in their own country I don’t know how about foreigners. also remember many places might not accept cards – Chinese people prefer having money in their hand rather than ‘invisible’ money in account πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much for all the advice. I will definitely keep that in mind. I was thinking about exchanging my money in China so I’m so glad you told me about doing it one the US instead. Thanks again πŸ™‚

      1. I just asked my husband – in normal banks foreigner can do it but not too much and they give a bad rate, there’s also a blackmarket but they might give you fake money so it’s better to do it in USA πŸ™‚ and if you buy something watch out for fake prices, if there’s no tag don’t bother to ask cause it changes for every customer πŸ™‚ in hk at ladies market ask some locals to ask for price and bargain from that price πŸ™‚ have fun once again and get some sunblock, it’s superhot now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

